Tapioca, the white little balls come from the starch of the cassava root. After the starch is extracted from the roots, starch is processed to make tiny tapioca pearls.
Tapioca is gluten-free, and vegan. Both the ingredients that go into it (cassava root) and the processing methods that create it are free of animal products.
It is a popular fasting recipe ingredient in India. Usually, grains are not eaten during fasts. So Sabudana Khichri, Sabudana Kheer, Sabudana Cutlets, and Sabudana Papad are thoroughly enjoyed or liked by the people.